Flood Protection

Flood Zone MapThe City of Douglas participates in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The NFIP is a Federal program enabling property owners and renters in participating communities to purchase insurance protection against losses from flooding. A Flood Insurance Policy is separate from a Homeowner's Policy and there is normally a 30 day waiting period before flood insurance goes into effect.

The National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP requirements. The CRS provides a discount in the flood insurance premiums for properties in communities that participate in the CRS and implement floodplain management programs that exceed minimum NFIP requirements.

Three goals of the Community Rating System (CRS) are: 

1) Reduce flood losses;
2) Facilitate accurate insurance rating; and
3) Promote the awareness of flood insurance.

The City of Douglas is a CRS Community and has a rate class of 9. Effective May 1, 2011, this provides flood insurance policy holders, living in the city of Douglas, a 5% premium discount on their policy.

Prevent Future Flooding

The City of Douglas is committed to an active program to help citizens protect themselves and property from future flooding. Follow this link to find out ways to protect yourself and your property. 

Tips to Prevent Future Flooding (PDF)

Relevant Documents

City of Douglas Flood Zone Map (PDF)

City of Douglas Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance (PDF)

City of Douglas Flood Prevention Permit Procedure (PDF)

Important Links

Ready.gov Flood Preparedness and Safety Tips

FloodSmart Program

For more information, contact Randall Parker at (912) 389-3462 or email.

Weather Graphics (22)